I love how this captures the importance of caring– good to remember as teachers, parents, and friends. Lynda Mullaly Hunt does this with her friends and may not know it!

Nerdy Book Club

A published author writing about herself as a child reader? Well, here’s some honest irony.

As a kid, I was a non-reader.

Having had no exposure to books prior to kindergarten, I started behind. I was placed in the lowest reading group and remained there until the middle of sixth grade.

Now, let me say that I may have been a bit of a conundrum to my teachers. When my turn came during reading group to answer a question, I rarely had an reply. (Because I’d have been playing “letter games” like putting words in alphabetical order rather than…you know…actually reading the sentences.) They’d smile as if to pat me on the head. My silence coupled with the fact that I was often a reserved, messy kid? Well, I suppose I seemed like a child whom they shouldn’t expect much from. I knew they thought I was dumb and, for…

View original post 865 more words

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Chicks Write

Get it Write this Summer!

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Annie Cardi

YA writer, redhead

The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

The Picture Book Review

Reviews of Children's Board Books, Picture Books, Activity Books, and Graphic Novels

over60hiker

Traveling Adventures of Dan & Hannah

Betsy Devany's Blog

Writing for Children

Page in Training

Read. Create. Share.

pugaliciouspress.wordpress.com/

Quality Middle Grade & Young Adult Adventure Books. Read on!

Be someone's hero. No cape required.

Lynda Mullaly Hunt, a children's author, blogs on craft, news, and the importance of everyday heroes in everyday lives.

A Wilderness of Words

a good place to get lost

Hilary Weisman Graham

Screenwriter, Author of REUNITED, Creator of Film, Muser on All Things

Creative Chaos

The occasional postings of a writer, illustrator, and mom.

Nerdy Book Club

A community of readers

Feeding the Flashlight

Books to spark young readers

Julie True Kingsley's Blog

Musings on really nothing...

